June Something III
Aug. 17th, 2021 10:30 pmLast third of the June Somethings questions. These were fun, you're tagged if you wanted to do any/all of them. :)
Day 20: A random character shows up at your doorstep at dinnertime saying a friend sent them. Why did your friend send that person, how does it go, and what do you talk about?
tbh, buddies would probably send me half the FE9 cast because of my favorite characters, they tend to be the most stable, non-murderous, pleasant to chat with folks with ideally some common interests that wouldn't leave either one of us bored. :P I'd like to chill with Micaiah a bit, if it's just a dinnertime thing. She's fascinating - given her fortune-teller background, she'd have a few stories at minimum to share, and probably would like to hang with somebody that has no lurking ulterior motive "at her" (and knows about her brand and doesn't give a fuck) other than simple friendship.
Day 14: What fandom broke your heart?
I've talked about others when "franchising" got into them, but Star Wars was probably the one that still stings the deepest if we're being honest, especially what mando'ade side of fandom looked like before and after Disney took over. I don't consider anything that they've done (or thejanky 3D-animated TCW cartoon) to be canon because I still consider it a mistake to completely reject the very interesting, patchwork quilt sort of world that the writers and comic creators (and games) had been sketching out before - Republic Commando, Open Seasons, KOTOR, the old 2003 Genndy Tartakovsky series, 501st costuming with verpine rifles oh my, and the even older ~90's books on Fett and Thrawn.
It'd be a whole essay to describe what is it that i loved so very deeply about those, (to the point I very seriously considered a mythosaur tattoo pre-aquisition) - but it boils down to the authors bringing in their own mindsets and lived-lives, some deeply anti-jetiise authors, some more neutral, some colored more by military experience than others, some here just to make a really damn good story like a fanfic author would - with texture. Shit had texture back then, it wasn't all out there to make the most optimized amount of money ti possibly could with carefully crafted marketing campaigns. These days you can't whole-sphincter crap on the jettise "officially" via a story because it would somehow go against the carefully constructed moral narrative of them as the heroes, and just - bah. (Sorry, sorry, i have Feelings about this lol)
There was also some personal friendship breakups that happened right when Disney took over that colored that fandom. Vau (the asshole) will always have a special place in my heart but there's a reason I don't draw RC fanart anymore.
I've talked about others when "franchising" got into them, but Star Wars was probably the one that still stings the deepest if we're being honest, especially what mando'ade side of fandom looked like before and after Disney took over. I don't consider anything that they've done (or the
It'd be a whole essay to describe what is it that i loved so very deeply about those, (to the point I very seriously considered a mythosaur tattoo pre-aquisition) - but it boils down to the authors bringing in their own mindsets and lived-lives, some deeply anti-jetiise authors, some more neutral, some colored more by military experience than others, some here just to make a really damn good story like a fanfic author would - with texture. Shit had texture back then, it wasn't all out there to make the most optimized amount of money ti possibly could with carefully crafted marketing campaigns. These days you can't whole-sphincter crap on the jettise "officially" via a story because it would somehow go against the carefully constructed moral narrative of them as the heroes, and just - bah. (Sorry, sorry, i have Feelings about this lol)
There was also some personal friendship breakups that happened right when Disney took over that colored that fandom. Vau (the asshole) will always have a special place in my heart but there's a reason I don't draw RC fanart anymore.
Day 15: What fandom pairing took you over like Venom took over Eddie?
Alutegra from Hellsing! I remember for the longest time I always "said" I thought about making a NSFW art blog but never did it .... until those two finally, finally convinced me. I had shipped characters before, but their chemistry was different - not only stronger in my mind (may have been a bit of a dawning moment as far as personal sexuality goes) but the flavors were a riot when it came to the inherent humor, teasing, M/s deeply tilted kink dynamic in their public and personal life. They remind me a lot like the Addams Family - the roles-as-weirdness both is and isn't the point. It is simply who they are and they rejoice in it.
Alutegra from Hellsing! I remember for the longest time I always "said" I thought about making a NSFW art blog but never did it .... until those two finally, finally convinced me. I had shipped characters before, but their chemistry was different - not only stronger in my mind (may have been a bit of a dawning moment as far as personal sexuality goes) but the flavors were a riot when it came to the inherent humor, teasing, M/s deeply tilted kink dynamic in their public and personal life. They remind me a lot like the Addams Family - the roles-as-weirdness both is and isn't the point. It is simply who they are and they rejoice in it.
Day 16: Do you have a fandom that you follow - either regularly or casually - with little to no knowledge of canon?
Detroit: Beyond Human was probably the closest to this I got; watched a liveblog of the game once on youtube but quickly fell in love with the artwork and fics that came out of the game, even if I only made one or two works. That, I think was the last/most recent fandom that I think I sincerely enjoyed since it got surprisingly dark and mature and deceptive with the creations. imo there's a sense of flawed media giving birth to some of the most creative fandoms kind of like how plants love to grow out of the worst fucking looking block of asphalt on the ground possible.
(Also some delicious gunplay and robo-ero-guro fics. ahem.)
Detroit: Beyond Human was probably the closest to this I got; watched a liveblog of the game once on youtube but quickly fell in love with the artwork and fics that came out of the game, even if I only made one or two works. That, I think was the last/most recent fandom that I think I sincerely enjoyed since it got surprisingly dark and mature and deceptive with the creations. imo there's a sense of flawed media giving birth to some of the most creative fandoms kind of like how plants love to grow out of the worst fucking looking block of asphalt on the ground possible.
(Also some delicious gunplay and robo-ero-guro fics. ahem.)
Day 17: Do you prefer art, fic, or vids? Why? Bonus: If someone was to give you a fandom gift, what format would it be?
Fic to consume, by far. Artwork I tend to be unreasonably picky with what stylistic flavors I like (as well as being very, very tired of the "uwu cute" vibe as a whole.) With fic, I feel like I see a lot more creativity in range of tone and mood - crack is equally as punchy as smut or humor fics or all of the above. I've found some long fics like And Wolves Beneath Their Seams that not only dragged me by the balls into a whole new game series, but hit on a very particular facet of living and surviving that ... I haven't seen breathed before. That really fucking mattered in a few rough years, and to the point I have that fic bound on the shelf behind me.
re: creating fanworks, however, I vastly prefer those lil' short comic strips I'm most known for. A friend of mine commented once that Makani probably had one of the largest impacts on people in fandom by her sheer style in comic strips, and I can see it through how she influenced me and others of my cohort.
Fic to consume, by far. Artwork I tend to be unreasonably picky with what stylistic flavors I like (as well as being very, very tired of the "uwu cute" vibe as a whole.) With fic, I feel like I see a lot more creativity in range of tone and mood - crack is equally as punchy as smut or humor fics or all of the above. I've found some long fics like And Wolves Beneath Their Seams that not only dragged me by the balls into a whole new game series, but hit on a very particular facet of living and surviving that ... I haven't seen breathed before. That really fucking mattered in a few rough years, and to the point I have that fic bound on the shelf behind me.
re: creating fanworks, however, I vastly prefer those lil' short comic strips I'm most known for. A friend of mine commented once that Makani probably had one of the largest impacts on people in fandom by her sheer style in comic strips, and I can see it through how she influenced me and others of my cohort.
Day 18: Recall a time when two of your fandoms collided, at least in some way. For example, a song that you fell in love with from one fandom showed up in a second fandom.
I don't really have a good example cross-fandom, but I'll never forget finding Hellsing through an AMV via two bands I always enjoyed (E Nomine and Eisbrecher, respectively.)
The fact that first video is still fucking online gives me some hope for the internet. : P
I don't really have a good example cross-fandom, but I'll never forget finding Hellsing through an AMV via two bands I always enjoyed (E Nomine and Eisbrecher, respectively.)
The fact that first video is still fucking online gives me some hope for the internet. : P
Day 19: What is something that you associate with a character in fandom, but aren't sure if it's canon or fandom?
Pip being Jewish in Hellsing. I personally think it's subtly nodded to in canon (Pip's speech before the fight with the Captain), but also love the yet-another-layer of vicious righteousness that it adds in the karmic payback against the Major and his forces. Plus it's really cute when you think about how he and Seras celebrate their remaining (undead) wedded years in the Hellsing Mansion in the years after. :')
Pip being Jewish in Hellsing. I personally think it's subtly nodded to in canon (Pip's speech before the fight with the Captain), but also love the yet-another-layer of vicious righteousness that it adds in the karmic payback against the Major and his forces. Plus it's really cute when you think about how he and Seras celebrate their remaining (undead) wedded years in the Hellsing Mansion in the years after. :')
tbh, buddies would probably send me half the FE9 cast because of my favorite characters, they tend to be the most stable, non-murderous, pleasant to chat with folks with ideally some common interests that wouldn't leave either one of us bored. :P I'd like to chill with Micaiah a bit, if it's just a dinnertime thing. She's fascinating - given her fortune-teller background, she'd have a few stories at minimum to share, and probably would like to hang with somebody that has no lurking ulterior motive "at her" (and knows about her brand and doesn't give a fuck) other than simple friendship.
(no subject)
Date: 2021-08-18 02:09 pm (UTC)God, I feel that. I keep sticking it out (obvs, if you've ever seen my AO3) and making friends with newer fans who are willing to read fics for the old EU, but god, there's a culture shock sometimes. Meeting people whose first introduction to Star Wars was The Clone Wars, Rebels, the sequel trilogy — it gets my head in a whirl, not just because "omg you're so young!!" (asshole move imo) but because it's ... just a completely different way of viewing these characters, the stories. It's very smoothed over and corporatized and has been since ~2008. Well, you could go back further and argue it's been sliding that way since the prequels came out, but there was still that "texture," like you said — creativity, a sense of wonder and zeal in so many of the video games and books released. Disclaimer that I went into the sequel trilogy, Rebels, and even Clone Wars with an open mind and tried to like each one — so far as I've been able to ensure, this isn't just a bitter old fan railing against the new canon for no reason except nostalgia XD
(no subject)
Date: 2021-08-19 12:10 am (UTC)One of my favorite, favorite scenes in the Republic Commando series, just for a little more context for you (think you'd enjoy something like this) - is where you have some mandalorian clone trainers hired to do some wet work by the Jedi/Republic, hunting down terrorists (there was a bomb plot in there related with the overall plot). One of the trainers, Vau is an interrogator by specialization, and starts off-screen torturing one of the 'terrorists' for information. He absolutely hates Jedi for a few reasons, but is civil enough to where he lets/goads (it's a fun exchange) one of the other jedi on the team, this young lady named Etain, finish up the messy work after him, when the terrorist doesn't crack for him. She basically has a crisis of morals afterwards terms of the fact she basically mentally tortured an individual to death and is the "same" as Vau who she previously had put in the emotional box of "sociopath". (Gahhh, one of my favorite deeply fucked up character work scenes ever - the other trainer's conflicted because he's more of a father figure to the girl and thinks Vau pushed her too far, and so there's this three-way sense of tension cross generations and cross ... life experiences? I've got the .pdfs to the books if you ever want me to toss them over. :P)
Between the general framing of the scene and the tangential War on Terror military connections the author (who was a journalist), one *really* gets the sense she was making a point on imperialism/"good guys vs bad guys the fucked up shit both do" and everything in between. All I can think of is that kind of scene would never make it out of Disney's censors these days, between it being too "real", too much blood on the jedi's hands, or the antis would somehow miss the point in a blinding way.
Wow though, it's incredible to hear that they could view Luke's struggle quite like that, that even the idea of *falling* is anathema to their sense of fictional(?) morality. Wonder what they'd think of Jacen, back in the old Vong war days...
(no subject)
Date: 2021-08-19 02:17 pm (UTC)God, I don't want to imagine the reaction to Jacen XD The "good"(?) news is that most Disney canon fans I've met have a strong and weirdly moral disdain for Legends — there seems to be a consensus that all Legends fans are racist, homophobic old white guys who only hate Disney because it's Woke And Full Of Good Rep! (not sure what movies they watched, but okay). I've seen the same attitude extend to the Legends books themselves, a sort of "if the fans are racist and homophobic then the books must be too!" but considering that this criticism comes from people who genuinely think the books sanctioned by Disney aren't homophobic.....okay.
(no subject)
Date: 2021-08-18 03:32 pm (UTC)AHHHH I MISSED THIS PART
I've seen a handful of newer fans arguing that to write an anti-Jedi/Dark Jedi story, or even a more nuanced story examining the Jedi's failures, is in fact anti-Semitic. On a related note I'm constantly baffled by the changes in the way the fandom views Luke — very clean and sanitized, extremely OOC; he seems more like a Steven Universe character than a Jedi, and definitely doesn't resemble either the original trilogy!Luke or the 90s books!Luke. It's interesting to see them grapple with the original movies' storyline of temptation and corruption; the way they frame it is very "Jesus in the desert" imo. "Yes, Luke was tempted, but the point is that he's so pure that he could never be tainted by the Dark Side! He was never really in danger of going Dark! The conflict was that he was scared to fall, but he never actually would, because he's too pure!"