(no subject)
Feb. 28th, 2022 07:56 pmwas thinking early this morning that shades of [gestures @ everything] are giving me huge war on terror vibes/memories. not like, the motivations of the factions and nations as much as ... individual reactions? i'm starting to see worrying trends of things getting censored/drowned out due to the sole sin of coming from russian sources. (obviously.... the government are masters of propoganda, I get that,,, ) but it's the principle of the matter.
and then i was also thinking of how amazingly prescient MGS2 was about information warfare
like that game wasn't even immediately after 9/11, im pretty sure i remember that thing being made before all the shit went down, and before social media was like, even a thing. jesus.
anyway the things i remember about MGS2:
and then i was also thinking of how amazingly prescient MGS2 was about information warfare
like that game wasn't even immediately after 9/11, im pretty sure i remember that thing being made before all the shit went down, and before social media was like, even a thing. jesus.
anyway the things i remember about MGS2:
- the sheer ..... gorgeous brutalistic starkness of how bright but muted everything was on those pods. i always felt like you could copypaste the low poly look and shader there and make one hell of a fun indie horror game because somehow each and every scene felt horrifically surreal.
- getting peed on (listen,,,)
- that fight with vamp with the sloshing pool in the middle of the darkened room with two floors and frantically trying to keep away because he fought with knives and you were a dead man if you let him get too close. god for as railroady as that game was, it was gorgeous.
- trying to find that one fucking OP sniper rifle even with guides
(no subject)
Date: 2022-03-01 11:44 pm (UTC)and they left me kinda "???" as a kid but, when i replayed as an adult, i kinda fell in love with the soapy meandering codec convos with otacon and rosemary. they got their own vibe! it's a good vibe!!!
(also, as a side thing, if-and-only-if you'd care to share, i'm curious where you're seeing russian news getting drowned out per se? i follow some mishmash of normie news sources (financial times, economist, etc) and social media stuff, and i've been seeing... rather more russian sources/perspectives/etc than i would've expected! maybe it's a regional thing?)